Entries are now open for the 6th Langhorne Creek Wine Show. This show is a key event for the Langhorne Creek Grape and Wine Association to recognise and award the winemaking and viticultural talent in the region.

This year’s competition will be judged by a panel of highly experienced and credentialed judges, including Master of Wine Fongyee Walker. China based, Fongyee has a wealth of international experience as a wine judge and educator “I am very much looking forward to judging at Langhorne Creek and learning more about the potential for quality wine from this region” she says about her forthcoming trip “Many of my students in China are not aware of Langhorne Creek, so it would be great to have it more on their radar as a quality Australian region”

Chair of Judges will be wine writer Nick Ryan. They will also be joined by senior judge Kerri Thompson, winemaker and proprietor of Wines by KT from the Clare Valley.

The three associate judges have been selected to represent both trade and industry. Shanteh Wong is Head Sommelier at Quay, Gourmet Traveller’s 2018 Restaurant of the year. Shanteh will judge alongside Robert Cragg from Fleurieu Vintners and Cragg Cru and Leon Talamini from Project Wine in Langhorne Creek.

Photo: John Kruger

Langhorne Creek encourages entries for all classes including the unique multi-regional class, which recognises Langhorne Creek’s history as a region where fruit has often gone into blends containing grapes from other regions. To enter this category, wines should have a minimum of 30% Langhorne Creek fruit.

The 2019 Langhorne Creek wine show is supported by major sponsor, Multi Color Corporation.  Entries are due by Friday March 15.

Judging will take place on April 30 and May 1. Winners will be awarded at lunch on Friday May 3 at Lake Breeze Winery, catered by renowned chef Simon Burr from the Olfactory Inn.

Conditions of Entry and critical dates can be found on the regional website at https://www.langhornecreek.com/langhorne-creek-wine-show

Entries must be submitted online at


Members login